Desktop Launcher icon mix-up

(José) #1

Hello everyone

I’m quite new to linux and after installing Lubuntu with LXQT desktop on my laptop, I noticed that the trash Icon could not be added to the desktop. Even though this was a minor nuisance, I spent a lot of time trying to fix it to no avail. The problem is that, during my last attempt, a new and more annoying problem has appeared.

I tried to create a shortcut to the trash folder in the desktop by using the ln -s terminal command as follows:

ln -s trash:/// /home/username/Desktop

This created a launcher icon, and upon double-clicking it, a window prompted me to choose the program to associate to that file extension in particular and I chose the files app PCManFM-Qt. I then double clicked the icon several times and nothing happenned. After that, I just deleted the launcher icon with right click and ‘send to trash’, and a window informed me of an error saying something about the chosen folder not exisiting or something like that. The thing is that, from that point on, whenever I download anything with Chromium and I click on “show in folder” after the file has been downloaded (I think that’s the translation, my version is in Spanish), Lubuntu automatically opens the download folder and, for some mysterious reason, the trash folder as well. I have tried uninstalling chromium and re-installing it and the problem persists. I downloaded another browser (chrome) and the same problem happens with it.

Is there anything that I can do to stop this?, It’s not that big of a deal but it’s kind of annoying, and I would like to know how did I trigger such an effect.

Thanks for your help

(Pedram Pourang) #2

Solution: Either use a distro that has an up-to-date LXQt (a rolling distro like Debian Testing, Manjaro Testing or OpenSUSE) or wait until the next Ubuntu upgrade.

Trash, Computer,… can be added to Desktop through desktop preferences → Advanced tab

(José) #3